2019 Scholarship Recipients

The 506th Association has awarded four $1,000 scholarships thanks, in part, to the generosity of Gene Overton, Carol Sullivan and John Lally. Gene, Carol and John have agreed to fund named awards within our scholarship program. Gene's award will be The Eugene and Marilyn Overton Scholarship Award, Carol's award will be named The NAVILLUS Foundation Award, while John's  will be the Marcia and John Lally Service Award.  Our fourth scholarship award is the Currahee Award and is funded by the 506th Association membership along with friends of the Association.

The NAVILLUS Foundation is a family foundation that was headed by Lee and Carol Sullivan. Lee has passed away and Carol has decided to continue funding this scholarship in order to honor Lee and the men who served in his Company. This award is dedicated to Lee Sullivan and the members of B Company, 1st Battalion, 506th Infantry who served in the Republic of Vietnam during 1969 and 1970.

Gene Overton served in C Company, 1st Battalion, 506th Infantry at Fort Campbell and the Republic of Vietnam from 1967 to 1968. Gene is also the co-founder of the 506th Association and he, along with his wife Marilyn, have donated an untold amount of time, energy, and money to further the goals of the Association. This year his award is dedicated to the memory of SSG Thomas Allen Baysore, Jr. who died on September 26, 2013 as a result of combat related injuries sustained in Paktya Province, Afghanistan while serving as a squad leader in Charlie Company [Gunfighters] 1st Battalion, 506th Infantry Regiment. SSG Baysore entered the Army in June of 2001 and deployed three times to Afghanistan and once to Iraq during his thirteen years in the military.

John Lally served with A Company, 1st Battalion, 506th Infantry in Vietnam, he served as both the Chairman of the Board of Directors and President of the 506th Association. The Marcia and John Lally Service Award is to honor all Currahee who have served their nation over the last eight decades.

2019 Scholarship Recipients have been chosen and will be announced July 3, 2019. Thank you to the highly qualified group who applied; we wish each of you much success in your studies.